top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMary Orr

Words from the Middle by Meredith Ross


In 2020, Mary Orr has challenged all of us to be the very best versions of ourselves. There is nothing about me that wants to write in theWeekly Happenings, that is Mary's job. But as I sat in the middle of the arena, watching her teach I realized that the time and effort that it takes to put together MajORR Fun is worth every second. I watched Mary and Evan do what they do best- teach, evaluate, and expect more from our horses, students, and the whole High Caliber Team. What means the most to me, is if you ride at High Caliber Stables, you matter. Although, their world has changed with children and show horses, it is still as important as ever for them to keep the connection with the riding program. The more I write, the more I realize that this was good for me. I have to put myself out there, just like they do. So, in the spirit of Mary and Evan, these are some of things that I took away from MajORR fun just from sitting in the middle. 


As I watched Mary and Evan teaching on Friday evening, I had 2 BIG A-Ha moments:


1) Almost every single one of the kids riding starting with US at High Caliber, whether in the double saddle at age 4 or posting in the bull pen or attending one of our Ready, Set, Ride summer camps.


2) All of the kids riding are now on their way to getting a Performance Horse or are already showing in Academy.  


And lastly, somehow, Mary & Evan ended up teaching about the same thing - feeling empowered enough to make decisions on their own and thinking and problem solving on their own.  Riding with Mary and Evan was exactly what these kids need -a different perspective on their riding and pushing them outside of their comfort zone.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page