top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMary Orr

Share your knowledge

A few years ago, I walked into John Biggins barn for the last time with him as the owner and operator. To me, John Biggins was larger than life. He was brilliant with a horse and his words. He saw things in horses that few could see. The John I went to see for the last time was much different than the man I remember winning over 25 World Championships my very first Louisville as a William Woods Student. Even though time and circumstances had changed, he was as kind as ever and still absolutely brilliant with a horse, even from the ground.  The horse we went to try would end up being Kaitlyn Creekmore's very first gaited horse Arrowhead's Salem Magic, fondly known as Arrow. When we tried him, John told me absolutely everything about him. I loved him and I loved that he came from someone I thought so much of.  I remember talking to Kaitlyn's grandfather about Arrow and making sure he knew how much I admired and trusted John Biggins.  Arrow became a Brock/Creekmore horse and has been a wonderful addition to our barn, Kaitlyn's life and her journey with gaited horses. Last week, as I was riding Arrow I called out to Missy Hughes Smith. I told her I wanted her to ride Arrow for a step. Missy worked for John Biggins for ten years. He made a huge impact on her life, both personally and professionally. I wanted Missy to help me work with Kaitlyn on picking up the trot and getting more out of Arrow in all aspects. Because Missy had worked with John and knew me so well, I thought it could not hurt to have a different feel from a different rider. I could not have been more wrong.  The minute she sat on Arrow it was not a different feel, it was magic. She knew just the buttons to push and he knew her language in a matter of seconds. He looked wonderful and confident and at the top of his game. As Missy was riding him she had the biggest smile on her face and with a laugh she said, "Yep, this a John horse." I knew that Kaitlyn would benefit from watching and learning from Missy on Arrow. Early the next morning she came out and they worked together. I watched as Kaitlyn soaked in Missy's movements and instruction. I learned from Missy and was thrilled she took the time to share. I also learned a valuable lesson at this season in my life: share your knowledge.  Missy is an outstanding horsewoman and person. I love to be around her positive energy and knowledge, but in this instance what I truly learned with Arrow was about the time John spent with Missy over twenty years ago. He was not just her boss, he was her mentor. When Missy sat on Arrow she used what John taught her in an instant and because of that time, John Biggins is not gone, he lives on in Missy. What is even better is Missy is sharing what John taught her with so many others, which means he will continue to live in those that Missy shares the knowledge that was shared with her.  Today, we are so competitive that we often forget to see the bigger picture. We can compete but we are nothing if we do not share. I am preparing for my first show season start without Evan as he will be recovering from back surgery. I live every day working as hard as I can to cultivate the team so together we can continue on. Instead of barking, I find myself explaining. The more I teach, the more I share the more I see the knowledge I have instilled confidence and skill in my team and one day down the road others can share the what I have learned.  There is nothing more satisfying than watching people learn. Share what you know, take your time with those that are truly interested, and you will find that some things never die. 

Have a great week.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page